Posted by: Tanya Hanson | October 16, 2012

Interview with the Heroine: Pia Peretti

Lifstyle Editor for the Culdesac County Courant

Miss Prinsella Primm is delighted to present the following interview with PIA PERETTI.

 PIA PERETTI , heroine of Jewels For The Kingdom by Delia Latham…

1.  Miss Pia, thank you for joining me today. I sure love all the alliteration going on with your and my names. Welcome  to Culdesac Corners, California. We’re a humble community hereabouts and would love to learn about someplace new. Tell us about Angel Falls.

Hi, Miss Primm! I can’t believe I’m speaking with you. I love your column!

About Angel Falls…are you sure you want to get me started? I love this little town. It’s location on the edge of the Angelina National Forest makes it a beautiful place to live – and, of course, there are all kinds of things to do within the Angelina itself – balloon rides, canoeing, camp-outs…I could go on and on. I’ve lived here all my life. My parents actually met here in Angel Falls, got married, and raised my brother Gabe and me in this little town, so I know every inch of it. Our parents sold their home a couple of years ago and moved to Lufkin, but I just couldn’t bring myself to leave the Falls. So here I am, living in a cottage out at Heart’s Haven. It works for me—and Gabe actually just moved back here from the big city of Dallas, and also took a cottage at the Haven. I’m lovin’ it! 

2.  Who are your favorite new neighbors? Where do you all gather for recreation and companionship?

All of my new neighbors are wonderful, but I suppose there are always one or two that stand out to a person, for whatever reason. Andrew Hart owns Heart’s Haven, and lives in the “big house” up front. He’s quite a character, and comes across all gruff and terse sometimes, but…I don’t know, I just get a feeling he’s a marshmallow underneath all that bluster. Then there’s Zoe Wyndham. She’s a throwback to Flower Child era, and probably the sweetest person I’ve ever met. She likes to say the two of us are soul sisters, and you know, I’m thinking she may be onto something.

I’m sorry, Miss Primm, I know I’m saying too much…but it’s hard to name one person and not remember special things about other folks in the complex. Susanna Daniels is an old friend of mine. She’s beautiful and has a heart of pure gold. Off the record, I’m thinking she may actually become my sister sometime soon. She and Gabe seem to be having trouble keeping their eyes off each other  🙂  Kaci James is a new friend, like Zoe. She’s a teacher at Angel Falls High, and very sweet. She’s so busy with her job that I haven’t been able to get to know her quite as well as some of the other, and she seems to spend an inordinate amount of time grading papers—her lights on until the wee hours most nights… But what I know of her, I like—a lot.

See, I told you I couldn’t stop with just one favorite new neighbor! Shall I keep going? LOL

Oh – we love to gather in the big rec room for group meals and just for fun. Hot chocolate and jigsaw puzzles are a favorite thing to do, and there’s almost always someone ready to join whoever feels in the mood for some down time. 

3.  Although I myself am a spinster, I’m betting there’s an interesting fella somewhere in your life. Since love never goes smooth, what is the biggest obstacle between the two of you?

Oh, I’m going to be a spinster too, Miss Primm! I’m not meant to fall in love and get married. I guess God has other plans for me. Not that I wouldn’t like to be a wife and even a mother someday… There is this one man who makes me question the way I know things have to go for me, but—well, it doesn’t really matter, I guess, since love isn’t in the cards for me, but he’s a minister, and well…even if I thought marriage might someday be in my future, it certainly wouldn’t be with a man of God. They want perfect women, don’t they? Women who’ve never made a serious mistake in their lives. That’s not me.   

4. A jewelry designer? Be still my heart. What can you do with sapphires, pearls, blue topaz, and citrine?

Sounds like a feast of fine things to me! Tell you what…come visit my little cottage and I’ll show you what I can do with those little gems, and a whole lot of others! 

5. I am  on my way right now, Miss Pia. What are five things I’m likely to find in the bottom of your reticule? (You modern ladies call it a purse.)

1.   A mechanical pencil and notebook, because the weirdest things give me inspiration for designs, and I have to be able to jot them down right away, so I don’t forget.

2.   A tube of lipstick, because even when I’m tired and rumpled from a long flight or a hard day at a trade show, I feel better if, at the very least, my lipstick is fresh. Don’t you?

3.   A safety pin or two. LOL  I travel a lot, going to various jewelry conventions and trade shows, and you just never know when something…well, vital, you know…is going to break or tear.

4.   Wrapped candy or gum, because I have a sweet tooth, you know. Just a tiny one…

5.   Loose coins. I’m the world’s worst about not taking time to put change in my change purse. It’s so much easier to just drop it into my purse! So every time I change handbags, I find a bounty of coins waiting for me. It’s a ready-made treasure! 🙂

 6. I’m a church-going woman. What Scriptures determine how you live each day?

So many of them! But my two favorites are:

Psalm 59:11 – Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

I pray that prayer every morning, to start me into the day with a push in the right direction.

And, to keep my mind where it ought to be, I love Philippians 4:8: Finally, brethren (and I know that means us ladies too!), whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. 

7. What about your past would you change if you could? How does what happened then threaten what you’re trying to build now?

Well, the thing in my past that I would change isn’t exactly something I want plastered across the pages of the Angel Falls Trumpet. 🙂  But it’s the reason I know my future doesn’t include romance. 

8. Sorry to hear that, dear. Well, I’m somewhat handy in the kitchen. How about a favorite recipe to share?

LOL – If you only knew how little I cook, you’d avoid asking me for a recipe. The only thing I’ve ever managed to make that I absolutely know will be edible is baked beans. I take them to every potluck and family event that requires my bringing a dish. But, I have to admit, I’ve had no complaints about them. Sure, I’ll share that recipe, if you and your readers are brave enough to try it. 

Pia’s Oh-so-easy Baked Beans

1 pound lean ground beef

2 (15 oz.) cans pork and beans
1/2 onion, chopped

1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup ketchup
1 tbsp. mustard (prepared – right out of the jar!)
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
Salt and pepper to taste
2-3 slices bacon

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Brown ground beef in skillet with onion. Drain.
  3. Add the pork and beans, brown sugar, ketchup, mustard, and Worcestershire sauce and season with salt and pepper to taste. (I like to use Morton’s Nature’s Seasons, in addition to the salt and pepper. It just adds a little zest…)
  4. Pour everything into a 13×9 inch baking pan and top with the bacon slices.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour, or until sauce is thickened and bacon is cooked.

Remove from oven and allow to sit 5 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

 

9. Miss Pia, I’m definitely brave enough to try those beans. Truth is, I’ll rustle up some for my supper. Now, back to business. I have definitely had experiences with angels in my life. How about you?

Angels! Well, since I’ve moved into Heart’s Haven, I’ve become more familiar with that subject than I ever thought I would be. And yes, I’ve had my own experiences. On in particular left me overwhelmed, when I felt a distinct embrace of angel’s wings. It was…how on earth do you describe such a thing? Heavenly. It was a heavenly moment. 

10. As for myself, Miss Louisa May Alcott is my all-time favorite author, and Miss Tanya’s as well. Who is your favorite author and why?

I love to read, but I have so many favored authors. However, I will say that I grew up reading the sweet Christian romances of Grace Livingston Hill. Maybe because of that influence, I find myself drawn even now to sweet romance.

However, it might surprise you to know that I also enjoy the epic battles between good and evil, as so uniquely portrayed by Stephen King and Robert R. McCammon.

10. Miscellany. Feel free to add, subtract, multiply or divide anything you still need to say that I have forgotten. 

You’ve just about scraped my brain, Miss Primm! LOL Let me just say that I believe it was God who led me to Heart’s Haven. I mean…I’ve lived in Angel Falls all my life, and never thought to stop and visit this little community of cottages just outside of town. Why would I? I didn’t have a reason to. But now that I’ve lived there, my life will never be the same. Heart’s Haven is unique. It’s absolutely touched by God and visited by angels. I know, because they’ve visited me.

 Thanks for being the first victim of Miss Tanya’s blog. Oh, and you too, Miss Delia Latham. I might be a nineteenth century spintser but I’ve sure got Jewels of the Kingdom loaded into my twenty-first century Kindle. Truth is, this time-traveling thing is kinda fun. I’ll be getting it read soon’s this edition goes to press.

It was my pleasure, Miss Primm!

Here’s how to purchase Miss Delia’s latest and finest. Click on this gorgeous cover. Hope to see y’all back here soon:

(also available Pelican Book Group and most e-book outlets.)

Responses

  1. Well, I must say, Miss Primm – you and Pia have come up with a riveting interview! LOL I hope the readers enjoy it as much as I did.

  2. Lovely interview! I’m so glad I checked in with you both!

  3. What a fabulous interview!!! You’re my brand new hero, Miss Primm!!! Adore your column!! xoxo

    • Miss Primm sure knows how to do that, LoRee! 😀 And Marianne, I think I’ve got a brand new hero too… 😀

  4. “Scraped my brain” — love it! And I love the interview. Great job all around.

  5. howdy friends! I am SO happy to welcome you to Culdesac Corners! I’m trying desperately to figure out how to have comments come in without being approved by me. Sheesh. Well, we are still having labor pains here. Love ya all!

    • Oh, the joys of setting up a new blog venue… lol

  6. What a lovely interview. Pia Peretti, you rock! Thank you to Delia Latham and Tanya Hanson for the awesome post. Love this series!!!

    • Oh! My! Goodness! I cannot believe it! Is this THE Mary Manners, author of Wisdom Tree and SO MANY other of my favorite books? I can’t believe she stopped in and read an interview with li’l ol’ me!

  7. Miss Primm is truly honored by the level of talent gracing her humble interview today. Thank y’all kindly!

  8. Wonderful interview, ladies! Pia, you’re a real gem yourself, So nice to hear about so many of your neighbors!

    • Aww, thanks, Donna! I’m looking forward to Ol’ Hart getting those short-term cottages set up, so you can visit! 😀

  9. Thanks, everybody, for having some fun here in Culdesac Corners. And Pia. great luck in life and Delia, best of blessings on a wonderful book!

    • Thank YOU, Tanya! I’ve had a blast, and can’t wait to see what Miss Primm does next! (Pia had fun too – she’s still talking about it. lol)

  10. Oh Miss Primm – you are wonderful. You have definitely found a dedicated reader in me! Thanks for this lovely interview!

    • I’m with you, Christine – I’m lovin’ Miss Primm!

  11. This was so fun to read. Pia’s personality came through so well. 🙂

    • Raquel! Thank you so much for coming by. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. And I agree, Miss Primm did a great job of getting to the heart of Pia’s personality. 🙂

  12. I want to know what Miss Pia would change in her past. It must be something big if she thinks she’ll never be involved in a romance!

  13. I want to know why Miss Pia doesn’t think she’ll be involved in romance any time soon…and you know how I am about mysteries.

    Love the website!

    • Kathy, I know how you can find out… 😀

  14. What a great interview! So fun!!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed my interview, Kate! I had so much fun!

  15. Thanks to everybody for welcoming Miss Pia to Culdesac Corners. Y’all come back, y’ hear? ~Love, Miss Primm

    • Well, I know Pia’s going to want to come back, and I must say, I’d love a visit myself! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

