Posted by: Tanya Hanson | January 15, 2013

Interview with a Heroine: Zoe Wyndham (and her author Tanya Stowe)

Miss Prinsella PrimmMiss Prinsella Primm, Lifestyle Editor of the Culdesac County Courant, is privileged to feature Miss Zoe Wyndham for her Lifestyle column today. Zoe is the heroine of Miss Tanya Stowe’s latest and most excellent book, Leap of Faith. And one lucky Lifestyle reader today will win a copy of  Miss Stowe’s  “Tender Touch.” Don’t forget to leave a comment to get your name in the drawing!

perf5.500x8.500.indd

1. My dear Miss Zoe, welcome today to Culdesac Corners, California. We’re a humble community hereabouts and would love to learn your take on Angel Falls.  

First  of all, Miss Primm, thanks so much for inviting me to speak with you. Angel Falls is a wonderful place to live. I feel so safe and protected. I know angels are watching over us and that just makes me feel like I can conquer anything…not to mention the fact that it’s surrounded by love. Everyone who lives here seems to fall in love. Except me, of course. I’ve been here the longest, but I know the Lord has other plans for me so it’s OK.

 

2. What do you in your spare time?   I don’t know what spare time is. I’m always busy with something, but I do love watching old movies on the big screen and good food. Whenever I sell a stained-glass window I treat myself to a movie and a good meal.

 

3.  Although I myself am a spinster, I always love romantic tales. Please tell us a tad about Zack Manning. Yet even I know love never goes smooth, so what is the biggest obstacle between the you and your alliterative Zack?    

Funny thing. Zack and I are exact opposites in our goals and lifestyles but we have a lot in common, like a love for old movies and good food. But no matter what we have in common, our paths are meant to be different. I’m being called to work with orphaned children in Haiti. It’s been on my heart for so long, I just know it’s the right thing. Zack just received a job offer from a company in Manhattan. It’s such a good offer, he’d be crazy to refuse it. As you can see, the Lord has very different plans for Zack and me.

 

4. I mean no insult, but folks seem to think you have a somewhat wacky side, Miss Zoe. Might you care to explain?   

Oh, I have more than one wacky side! I grew up in cooperatives…most people call them communes. My parents were free spirits. I was a late in life surprise and I’m not sure they knew what to do with me. Fortunately, in a cooperative, you grow up with lots of community parents. But basically, I raised myself. I’ve been on my own since I was sixteen so I have a lot of independent ideas. But I think the thing that puts most people off is my ‘knowing.’ The Lord likes to tell me things about people…mainly things I’d rather not know. In fact, that’s how Zack and I got to talking. The Lord gave me a message for Zack. I was faithful and delivered it, but Zack didn’t really appreciate the message!

 

5. What are five things I’m likely to find in the bottom of your reticule? (I know you modern ladies call it a purse).

  I carry a very big, woven bag with an across-the-chest strap. It’s so big it’s hard to see the bottom but I can guess what you’d find. A pair of needle nose pliers. I think they’re the handiest tools on the face of the earth! A small plastic container of Band-Aids, I always seem to have a cut or burn on my hands from my work. Several big, cloth covered rubber bands. My hair is always getting in my way or coming undone. Several packages of Juicy Fruit gum. In the cooperatives sugar was a no-no, so I take special delight in chewing gum with sugar. I know someday I’ll stop feeling rebellious and go sugar free, but for right now, it’s my guilty pleasure. Last but not least, you’d find lots and lots of coins. I never use my coins, I always break the bills and throw the change in the bottom of my purse. Then when it gets too heavy to carry, I clean the change out, turn it back into bills and send the money to the orphanage in Haiti. It helps me to feel like I’m doing something while I save to move down there.

6. I’m a church going woman myself.   Zoe dear, what Scriptures determine how you live each day?    

Phillipians 4-13: I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

 

7. Without spoiling my “Leap of Faith” with any spoilers, what in your past would you change if you could? How does what happened then threaten what you’re trying to build now?  

 I think anyone could guess at what makes my life difficult. I’d rather not have this gift of ‘knowing’. I think it’s the biggest challenge to all my relationships, even my friends. My life would be so simple without it. 

8. I’m somewhat handy in the kitchen. How about a favorite recipe to share?

  I don’t cook. I don’t have the time. But also, in the cooperatives everyone did kitchen duty and we grew most of our food. But everything was done in bulk. Great platters of homemade lasagna and breads. It just seems such a time waste to cook for one person.

 

9. Zoe, living in a place called Hearts Haven, you surely must have a heart-stirring experience to share with us. Don’t you?

I’ve been there for 2 years and I’ve seen almost every person who moved there fall in love with someone. But the most heart-stirring was Mr. Hart. The angels talk to him all the time. He knows everything about everybody, sometimes even before they know it. But he didn’t know he was in love with Miss Vivian until she told him! He walked around for days in a daze until she finally asked him if he was going to marry her. Then he did the proper thing and dropped down on one knee. I can still see his shocked face. I’ll never forget it.

 

10. As for myself, Miss Louisa May Alcott is my all-time favorite author, and Miss Tanya’s as well.

 Who is your favorite author and why?  M.M. Kaye. She wrote The Trade Winds and The Far Pavillions. She wrote about far away places and knew all about the cultures. I just loved travelling the world with her.

 

11. Miscellany. Feel free to add, subtract, multiply or divide anything you still need to say that I have forgotten.Thanks for being the subject of Miss Tanya’s blog and the interviewee for my Lifestyle column for the Culdesac County Courant. 

Please be sure to visit the Heart’s Haven’s Facebook page. We’re having another blow-out party for Kaci James this month on Wednesday the 16th, we’d love to see you and we always have great giveaways at our parties! Stop by at https://www.facebook.com/HHFriends

 

(Miss Primm warmly hugs Zoe.)  I am not quite certain what Facebook is, my new dear friend, but I am willing to navigate whatever I need to do to get to a party!  And thanks sincerely for the marvelous excerpt below.  Please come back!

*  *  *  *

Buy Links:

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Leap-Faith-Hearts-Haven-ebook/dp/B00ANYPZPI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358064005&sr=8-1&keywords=leap+of+faith+tanya+stowe

Pelican

http://www.pelicanbookgroup.com/ec/leap-of-faith

Barnes and Noble

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/leap-of-faith-tanya-stowe/1113966499?ean=2940015762532

Contact Info

www.TanyaStowe.com

Tanya@TanyaStowe.com

Excerpt:

Zack had the chance to examine Zoe’s face up close. He could see she wasn’t wearing make-up, not even on her long, dark eyelashes. She had soft-looking, creamy skin so he was glad she didn’t cover it up. He wondered once again how he had missed Zoe’s flawless natural beauty in all their previous meetings. He even noticed she chewed on her full bottom lip.

 

“Is something wrong?” he asked.

 

She took a deep breath and turned back to him. “Look, I know this is going to sound strange.”

Zack had a hard time concentrating on what she said because now that she was close, he would bet her eyes were hazel, not green and they had picked up the forest color from her sweater. Did they take on other colors, too?

 

“I have a message for you,” she said.

 

“More trouble from Gabe?” His gaze traveled over her lips.

 

“No, not from Gabe. I have to tell you to listen to the promptings of your heart.”

 

Right now the promptings of his heart told him to lean over and kiss those sweet pink lips. He felt quite certain those were not the promptings Zoe was talking about.

 

“I don’t understand. What does that mean?”

 

She took another breath. “It means God is trying to tell you something, Zack. You need to listen.”

 

He felt as if cold water had been poured over his head. He blinked then took a step backwards.

 

 Leap_of_Faith_50b2d888eda82

Tender Touch Tanya Stowe

Responses

  1. Zoe, you’re charm personified–and so is your author, Tanya Stowe. Lovely glimpse into Leap of Faith! 🙂 Ms. Primm, you’re amazing, and much loved. Why, everyone at The Haven adores you and your publication… ❤ Blessings, ladies!

    • Marianne, your words and your constant love always warm my heart! I couldn’t make it without you, nor could Miss Primm. So glad to see you here…let’s make a tea date for sure!

  2. Howdy, Marianne, and welcome back to Culdesac Corners. I am so excited about the party today. I’ll get there soon’s a lunch date is done. Miss Primm adores y’all back! xo

  3. Lady Zoe! I wondered when Miss Primm was going to invite you to tea. 🙂 Love the interview, and love YOU, my sweet free-spirited friend!

    Pia

    • Dear Pia, both Miss Primm and I are thrilled to find you back in the Corner. You are one of our most favorite guests. Hope all is well! xo

  4. Hey, ladies! What a great interview! I always love stopping in at Culdesac Corners. Miss Primm reminds me to cherish my femininity. 🙂 Love you all!

    • Dear Delia, welcome, welcome! Your kind words encourage us all! Love you.

  5. Sounds like a great books

    • Dear Debbie, what a delight to welcome a newcomer to Culdesac Corners. Hopefully you’ll stop by each time you’re in the vicinity.

  6. Hey ya’ll! What a dee-LIGHT-full interview! I’m pretty sure Miss Zoe and I are related…at the very least, we’ve certainly met 🙂 Wondering though whether Miss Primm has a twin sister named Miss Proper?! It just seems, well, proper! I’m having quite the blessed time getting to know Miss Zoe through the pages of Leap of Faith…what a remarkable thing to have the gift of “knowing”!

    • Dear Miss Sheila, Miss Primm and I definitely think we are kindred spirits with YOU! How you fit into our mold with your suggestion. Sadly, Miss Primm is sister-less, but she has a brother Prosser, (silly pretentious name) who is informally called Skip. He marshals our flittle corner corner of the world. Please don’t be a stranger!

  7. Thanks everyone for stopping by today. I just did a cyber drawing and Sheila Holman is the winner of the copy of Tender Touch. If you will email at Tanya@TanyaStowe.com with your email address and preferred format, Sheila, I’ll get that out to you!

    A second story in the collection will be coming soon. I hope you’ll all be on the lookout for Tender Trust!

  8. Miss Primm and I surely thank you all for helping make Miss Zoe and Tanya Stowe so welcome here in Culdesac Corners. Don’t be strangers! xo

  9. Zoe, I have to confess I’m prone to a little of that rebellious spirit myself. lol. Love the interview, ladies. Miss Primm, as usual, it’s a delight to visit your lovely blog. Sorry I’m late to the party, but I’m having a bit of difficulty keeping up with one SUPER BUSY Anya Novikov. You might have heard of her? lol. Love ya, Tanya!

    • Dear Dora, Miss Primm and I are thrilled to see you here. And Miss Primm promises to improve her blog somewhat in 2013. Aw, so little time.

      On a serious note, I can’t put into words how much all of you encourage me. As you may have picked up on it…I’ve been roiled with doubts and un-confidence for a while now. Even though I’ve tried to put it all in His hands, I’m realizing I need to reach higher and more often. Thanks to you all. I love and so appreciate you!

  10. Howdy, this was a fun interview. Thanks for sharing. Cher’ley


Leave a Reply

Categories

